Short version

Croatia is a country located in southeastern Europe, bordered by Slovenia to the northwest, Hungary to the northeast, Serbia to the east, Bosnia and Herzegovina to the southeast, and the Adriatic Sea to the southwest.

The history of Croatia dates back to the 7th century when Slavic tribes migrated into the area. During the 9th century, the Croats formed a principality, which later became a kingdom under the rule of King Tomislav in the 10th century.

In the 11th century, Croatia came under the control of the Hungarian Kingdom, but it maintained its autonomy and its own ruler, known as the ban. During this period, Croatia saw significant economic and cultural development, and many important cultural and historical sites were built, such as the city of Dubrovnik.Image by Paul Brennan from Pixabay

After World War I, Croatia became a part of the Kingdom of Yugoslavia, which was ruled by the Serbian monarchy. During World War II, Croatia was occupied by Nazi Germany and became a puppet state known as the Independent State of Croatia. The Ustaše regime that ruled during this time committed numerous war crimes, including the genocide of Serbs, Jews, and Roma.

After World War II, Croatia became a part of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, which was led by the Communist Party under the leadership of Josip Broz Tito. Croatia declared independence from Yugoslavia in 1991, which led to a four-year war with Serbia that ended in 1995.

Since gaining independence, Croatia has made significant strides in rebuilding its economy and infrastructure, and it has become a popular tourist destination due to its natural beauty and historical landmarks. In 2013, Croatia joined the European Union, and it continues to work towards greater integration with Europe and the global community.

Detailed description will follow soon…